Conferencing is tiring!

Things have been quiet because I’ve spent the last four days at the RBMS pre-conference, which is the annual conference of the Rare Books and Manuscripts Section of the American Library Association. (I’m in grad school for medieval history right now, but I just finished library school, and I want to be a librarian, not a professor.)

There were panels and discussions and round-tables and plenary sessions and a technology petting zoo and a booksellers’ display and receptions and time to go out for lunch and dinner with colleagues, and almost 400 other people who think that rare books and special collections libraries and materials are the best thing ever. It was a blast.

I noticed one or two other people knitting, but mine never made its way out of the hotel room: there was just too much going on!

Now that I’m waiting in the airport, I’m knitting armwarmers for a friend. When I finish those (and I will) I’ll go back to a second sock for myself. Both projects were selected on the basis of being very small and portable, and easy enough to knit on a plane without needing a pattern.

What kinds of projects do you bring with you when you travel?

About Alisa

I'm a graduate student studying medieval European history. I knit, spin, quilt, and occasionally sew other things. I learned to knit and sew from my grandmother as a child: spinning I picked up on my own thanks to stubbornness and the internet. I have two spinning wheels and one sewing machine, and more knitting needles than I probably really need. My yarn and fiber stash is large enough that I think I'm probably well supplied for the aftermath of the zombie apocalypse.
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

