Finished Penny Patch Quilt!

I FINALLY finished my Penny Patch quilt. Rachel at Stitched in Color started a quilt-along about a year ago and I cut fabric and stitched a quilt top and even machine quilted the whole thing and then… well, then I got hung up on binding it.

But I finished it last Sunday, and I love it. Here it is on my kitchen table:
45%22x45%22

I grid-quilted it, free-handing it with a walking foot on my Brother P1500Q straight-stitch machine:
Detail

And I used a blue and orange backing, stretching the blue gingham I had by adding a center orange panel:
Back

I’ve also been cleaning out my closets, and discovered that I have a lot of quilts that I’ve finished that I just have no use for — they don’t match my personal aesthetic, I made them just to make them, or they’re for babies, and I don’t have a baby. So I’ve put them on Etsy.

Screen Shot 2015-09-23 at 11.15.58 AM

Longtime blog readers will recognize two quilts I made in 2012. If you like one of these, and use the code KNITSPINQUILTREADER, you’ll get 10% off.

As before, all income in September and October of 2015 go directly to a donation to the JHU CTY Scholars program!

Edited to add: linking up to TGIFF!

Author: Alisa

I sew and bead to fundraise for charity. I have two spinning wheels and three sewing machines, and more knitting needles than I probably really need.

2 thoughts on “Finished Penny Patch Quilt!”

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.